From the Friends: Library Legislative Day

Posted Feb 1, 2019

Think of it as a Valentine for your library.

Handwritten notes from the library community have become Wisconsin Library Association’s “brand.” Librarians and library enthusiasts - like you! - have been sending handwritten notes to Madison for the past few several years and getting great responses. 

National Library Legislative Day brings library staff and supporters to Washington D.C. annually or semi-annually to lobby legislators and share the impact of all types of libraries. In Wisconsin, the Wisconsin Library Association brings library supporters from across the state to Madison on one day in February each year, helping to organize meetings with legislators and more. You can take part without even leaving home by writing a note to your legislator.

By sharing your love for libraries directly with legislators, you send an important message about the impact of libraries in your life that goes beyond what the research says about libraries. You can even invite legislators to hold their next Town Hall meeting in your library or to attend library programs.

Send your notes by February 12, 2019, Library Legislative Day, to the following addresses: 

Addresses for State Senators: P. O. BOX 7882, MADISON, WI 53707-7882

Addresses for Assembly Representatives: LAST NAMES A-L: P.O. Box 8952, Madison, WI 53708-8952; LAST NAMES M-Z: P.O. Box 8953, Madison, WI 53708-8953

Here are the addresses for the five constitutional officers sworn in on January 7:

Governor Tony Evers, 115 East State Capitol, Madison, WI 53702

Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes, 19 East State Capitol, Madison, WI 53702

Attorney General Josh Kaul, P.O. Box 7857, Madison, WI 53707-7857

Secretary of State Doug La Follette, P.O. Box 7848, Madison, WI 53707-7848

State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski, PO Box 7871 Madison, WI 53707

And you don't have to just write to support your public library. Does your child use and love their school library? Attorney Kaul, Treasurer Godlewski and Secretary La Follette constitute the three member Board of Commissioners of Public Lands which administers the Common School Fund which provides the majority of funding for Wisconsin's school libraries.  

We hope you will join the Friends of Shorewood Library in reaching out to our legislators 

Share This: